Hope Through Another

HCC SL 2015 Edit #2 75%HCC SL 2015 Edit #1 75%

By Jeremy Raines

Administrative Assistant for Programs

My first week as SON-Ministries’ Administrative Assistant for Programs certainly opened my eyes to the notion of “a job being more than just a job”. Prior to joining the team, I couldn’t help but be drawn in by its passion for serving the community. Yet at the same time, I was unsure how I’d fit into SON- Ministries mission, after all, how can someone new to Hilliard and the surrounding communities feel the same dedication to it as someone who has spent much of their life there? Watching the network of volunteers and staff of the Hilliard Free Lunch Summer Camps serve the community made me realize that my work can be something that reaches far beyond myself, something that reflects what it means to be more Christ-like.

Over the last week I can’t say how many times the kids at the five summer lunch camps surprised me. They radiated hope and joy, regardless of any circumstance that had crossed their families’ journeys. And just as SON-Ministries seeks to build relationships, so too did the kids with each other. Family origins, ethnicity, and subtle language barriers didn’t seem to matter to any of the kids. This above all else has made me realize that just as much as I hope to help each child recognize their own voice and potential, they are ultimately receiving another helping hand from the child to his or her left and right. I’m acknowledging that SON-Ministries is more than an organization, it’s a community, and I’m eager to watch it further grow and develop.

Leave a comment