Perfect the Way They Are

Manar Alrjub

Teen Intern

IMG_4003When I started volunteering for the first time with Serving Our Neighbors (SON) Ministries, I was really nervous but curious at the same time. I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to socialize with so many young children or I wasn’t going to be able to enjoy my summer. However, as the days went by, I became more and more comfortable. I began to look forward to come in everyday and see such bright, beautiful smiling faces. Not only that, but I’ve been able to experience such unique and unexpected events with the campers and members of SON Ministries. The main event that I’ll be focusing on is an event that really touched my heart.

On June 26th, 2017, members of a non-profit organization, IGNITE our city,  came in and notified us that we had the great opportunity to have our art featured at the Columbus Museum of Art. They had a plan for each individual camper to cut out a hand out of construction paper and decorate it in ways that represent them. Afterwards, these
hands would be put together and they would form a tree that represented this year’s
camp members. Not only did this project bring the campers together, but it also showed
our interests and our unique characteristics to all of Columbus.

I decided to share this experience because this project doesn’t only show whoIMG_4004
the campers really are but it shows what SON Ministries stands for. From the moment I stepped foot in my camp site, I instantly felt the love and the comfort that the SON
Ministries members shared. I saw bright smiles everywhere and I heard kind words being passed around. The project that we got to be involved in was created to let everyone know that they are extraordinary and that they are perfect the way they are. SON Ministries does a wonderful job spreading that message. They bring so many people together to create a camp that has so much diversity, it’s unbelievable. They let
everyone know that there is only one of each person and that’s why we are all unique. Lastly, SON Ministries makes everyone feel included. They encourage all campers and volunteers to embrace their interests and their backgrounds because that’s what makes each person special.

At SON Ministries, we see each person CREATED in GOD’s own image; each as a purpose and a voice.

Leave a Reply

